Business & Public Service

Business & Public Service

Department Overview
From paralegal studies and criminal justice to accounting and business administration, there are so many options available to set you on an exciting and rewarding career path in industry, government or as an entrepreneur. We’ll make sure you gain the practical and relevant experience you need to be successful, whether you continue your education at a four-year college or immediately enter the workforce after graduation.

No matter what stage you're at in life, we have a career path to meet your needs. If you want to start your education at RVCC and then transfer to a top four-year college, we have a wide variety of program options. Our graduates have transferred to such prestigious schools as Cornell University, New York University, Ithaca College, Rutgers University, The College of New Jersey and Rider University.

If you want to train for a career and go directly to the workforce, take online classes or face-to-face classes, we have programs for you including business management, commercial energy management technology, HVAC, supply chain management and accounting. Or if you are already in the workforce and want to develop some specialized skills that will help you advance, we are here for you. 

Developing Tomorrow’s Leaders
Business and Public Service is a dynamic, forward-looking department that believes there is more to earning a degree or certificate than textbook knowledge. Working with community leaders and business partners, we have developed innovative programs that will develop your professional skills as well as foster entrepreneurship and civic responsibility. Internship opportunities are available to help you gain hands-on experience.

Degrees Designed to Transfer to Four-Year Schools

Business Administration-Overview of Options, Associate of Science - Explore Careers
Criminal Justice, Associate of Science - Explore Careers
General Business Option in Business Administration, Associate of Science - Explore Careers
International Business Option in Business Administration, Associate of Science - Explore Careers
Management Information Systems Option in Business Administration, Associate of Science - Explore Careers
Marketing Option in Business Administration, Associate of Science - Explore Careers
Supply Chain Management Option in Business Administration, Associate of Science - Explore Careers

Degrees Designed to Lead to Immediate Employment

Accounting Information Systems, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
Accounting, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
Business Management-Overview of Options, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
Commercial Energy Management Technology, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
Environmental Control Technology, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
Financial Services Option in Business Management, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
General Business Option in Business Management, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
International Business Option in Business Management, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
Marketing Option in Business Management, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers
Paralegal Studies, Associate of Applied Science Degree - Explore Careers
Supply Chain Management Option in Business Management, Associate of Applied Science - Explore Careers

Certificates Designed to Develop Special Expertise

Bookkeeping, Certificate - Explore Careers
Commerical Energy Management Technology, Certificate - Explore Careers
CPA Education Requirement, Certificate - Explore Careers
Environmental Control Technology, Certificate - Explore Careers
Financial Services, Certificate of Completion - Explore Careers
International Business, Certificate - Explore Careers
Paralegal Studies, Certificate - Explore Careers
Tax Preparer, Certificate of Completion - Explore Careers

Online classes are an option for many Business and Public Service degree requirements.  Click here to register for online summer college courses today!

Bio

Professor - Accounting

Academic Degrees Achieved:
M.S., Seton Hall University; B.S., Montclair State University

Area of Expertise
Accounting
Email
Bio

Professor - Accounting

Academic Degrees Achieved:
Ph.D., New York University; M.S., Pace University; B.S., Lehigh University

Learning Styles of Practicing Accountants in Mainland China, Hong Kong, and the United States: A Cross Cultural Study: New York University Doctoral Dissertation (2008)  - The Role of Community Colleges in Promoting Financial Literacy: A Proposed Model: Princeton University McGraw Center for Teaching & Learning Publication (2012) 

Area of Expertise
Financial and Managerial Accounting
Email
Bio

Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: J.D., Rutgers University School of Law; B.A., Douglass College

Bar Admissions: United States Supreme Court, 1996; State of New Jersey, 1978; State of Pennsylvania, 1979
Professional Memberships & Appointments: N.J. Supreme Court Committee on Paralegal Education & Regulation: American Bar Association: New Jersey State Bar Association: Somerset County Bar Association: Hunterdon County Bar Association

Area of Expertise
Paralegal Studies
Email
Bio

Instructor - Commercial Energy Tech

Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering, Stevens Institute of Technology 1972

Awards:  
--Licensed as a Professional Engineer in eight states including New Jersey;
--Awarded the Distinguished Service Award from the New York Chapter of ASHRAE, the largest in the country, for a lifetime of achievement in the field of Heating, Air Conditioning, and Ventilation.


Area of Expertise
--Spent over 40 years working as a consulting engineer in the design of mechanical systems (HVAC) for a wide variety of commercial and institutional buildings.
--Founding partner of ads Engineers, a forty person consulting engineering firm, providing engineering services in the design of HVAC, electrical, plumbing, and fire protection systems for residential, commercial, and institutional buildings in 25 states.
Email
Bio

Instructor - Criminal Justice

Academic Degrees Achieved: J.D., Seton Hall University School of Law; M.A., Seton Hall University; B.S., Rutgers University;  A.A., Union County College


Outstanding Faculty of the Year Award - RVCC 2014, Distinguished Faculty Advisor Service Award - RVCC 2014

Area of Expertise
Police Use of Force/Arrest, Search and Seizure
Email
Bio

Associate Professor - Finance

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.B.A., Indiana University; Master's Certificate, George Washington University;
B.S., University of Virginia

Certified Management Accountant (CMA), Project Management Professional (PMP), Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisor, Six Sigma Green Belt certification

Area of Expertise
Finance
Email
Bio

Associate Professor        

Academic Degrees Achieved:
B.E., Polytechnic University; M.S., Stevens Institute of Technology

Area of Expertise
HVAC/R & Energy Management
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor - Criminal Justice

Academic Degrees Achieved: B.S., M.S., University of Maryland Eastern Shore; Ph.D., Capella University

Bio

Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.B.A., Seton Hall University; B.S., The College of New Jersey; A.S., Raritan Valley Community College

Area of Expertise
Business Administration
Email
Bio

Professor - Business

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.B.A., University of Chicago; M.B.A., K. U. Leuven, Belgium; M.S., University of Wisconsin; B.S., University of Wisconsin

* Retirement financials research - four publications in Journal of Financial Planning and Journal of Financial Service Professionals * Research referenced in Wall Street Journal and New York Times * Featured in Wall Street Journal article on management * Patent for first distributed digital switching system * Society for Technical Communications awards for excellence and achievement * Collegiate national rowing champion * Former Guinness World Record holder for rowing

Area of Expertise
Business, Management, Finance, Computer Science
Email
Bio

Professor - Economics & International Business

Academic Degrees Achieved: Ph.D., Capella University; M.A.,
B.A., American University;

Area of Expertise
Economics & International Business
Email
Bio

Associate Professor - Marketing
 
Academic Degrees Achieved:
Ph.D. Candidate, Rutgers State University; M.S., Wayne State University; M.B.A., Wayne State University; B.S., Wayne State University

Area of Expertise
Marketing
Email
Bio

Professor - Business Law  

  Academic Degrees Achieved: J.D., Temple University; M.B.A., Temple University; B.S., State University of New York
            

Area of Expertise
Business Law
Email
Bio

Associate Professor - Business

Academic Degrees Achieved:
M.B.A., Rosemont College; B.S., Shippensburg University

Area of Expertise
Business; Enactus Club Advisor
Email
Bio

Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A.T., Trenton State College; M.S., Bellevue University

Phi Theta Kappa International Advisor Award (2X), Phi Theta Kappa Regional Advisor Award (3X)

Area of Expertise
General Computing, Web Development
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor - Accounting

Academic Degrees Achieved:
M.B.A., B.A., Rutgers University

Area of Expertise
Accounting
Email

Raritan Valley Community College online courses, as well as face-to-face classes, are taught by accomplished adjunct and full-time faculty.

Craig Ally Craig.ally@raritanval.edu
A.A., Criminal Justice, Raritan Valley Community College
B.S., Fire Science w/Minor Law Enforcement Science Psychology, University of New Haven
M.A., Education, Administration and Supervision, Seton Hall University

Elizabeth McIntyre Arthur  Elizabeth.arthur@raritanval.edu
A.A., Cumberland County College
B.S.B.A., Thomas A. Edison State College
Executive M.B.A., Georgian Court University
Doctor of Business Administration (DBA), Walden University

Christopher Bahr  Christopher.bahr@raritanval.edu
A.A., Business Administration, County College of Morris
B.B.A., Management, Pace University
M.A., Social Science-Economics, Montclair State University

John R. Bale John.bale@raritanval.edu
B.S., Rochester Institute of Technology
M.B.A., Rutgers University Business School

Siobhan Beere Siobhan.beere@raritanval.edu
M.A., John Jay College of Criminal Justice
J.D, Rutgers University

Robert Bertolatus Robert.bertolatus@raritanval.edu
B.S., M.S., Industrial Engineering, Rutgers University

Jason Bost, Sr. Jason.bost@raritanval.edu
A.S. Physical Studies, Monroe Community College
B.S. History,  State University of New York, Brockport
M.B.A., New Jersey Institute of Technology
J.D., Rutgers Newark School of Law

Joseph Caramela Joseph.caramela@raritanval.edu
A.A.S., Raritan Valley Community College
B.S., Pennsylvania College of Technology

David Carbone David.carbone@raritanval.edu
E.D.D., University of Albany, SUNY

Allen Cummings Allen.cummings@raritanval.edu
B.E., Pratt Institute
M.S., New Jersey Institute of Technology

Lia Carrier Lia.carrier@raritanval.edu
B.A. Economics, Rutgers College, Rutgers University  
M.B.A. Finance, Seton Hall University, Stillman School of Business

Nicole Casciola Nicole.casciola@raritanval.edu
B.S., The College of New Jersey
J.D., Dickinson College

Ali Chaudry Ali.chaudry@raritanval.edu
M.A., PHD., Tufts University

Paul DeAngelo Paul.deangelo@raritanval.edu
B.S.B.A., Baruch College
M.B.A., Hofstra University

Leonard Diliberto Leonard.diliberto@raritanval.edu
B.B.A., Business Management, Dowling College
M.S., Telecommunications Management, Stevens Institute of Technology

Claire Drzewiecki Claire.drzewiecki@raritanval.edu
M.A., Rutgers University
J.D., George Washington University

Fernando Ferrer, MBA Fernando.ferrer@raritanval.edu
Chemical Technician, Otto Krause. Argentina
B.S. U.A.D.E., Production Organization, Engineering University, Argentina
M.B.A., I.A.E. (IESE) - Universidad Austral, Argentina

Darleen Fiorelli Darleen.fiorelli@raritanval.edu
B.S., Business Management, Fairleigh Dickinson University
M.B.A., Marketing, Fairleigh Dickinson University

Dawn Flanders Dawn.flanders@raritanval.edu
A.S., General Studies, Ocean County College
B.A., Criminal Justice, Rutgers University
M.A., Human Resources, Training and Development, Seton Hall University
Ed.S, Education, Leadership, Management, and Policy, Seton Hall University

Michael Fleming Michael.fleming@raritanval.edu
B.A., Political Science, Spanish, University of Rochester
J.D., New York University Law School

Ira Friesheim    Ira.friesheim@raritanval.edu
M.B.A., Fairleigh Dickinson University
M.S., Stevens Institute of Technology
B.S., Fairleigh Dickinson University

Anshu Gandotra Anshu.gandotra@raritanval.edu
M.S., University of Saint Thomas

Garrett Grega Garrett.grega@raritanval.edu
B.S., Cornell University
M.B.A., Georgetown University

Jane Herchenroder Jane.herchenroder@raritanval.edu
B.A., Paralegal Studies, New York University
JD Law, Seton Hall University

Charles Irace Charles.irace@raritanval.edu
B.A., Political Science, Susquehanna University
M.B.A., Business Mgmt., Fairleigh Dickinson University

Gayle Kaufman Gayle.kaufman@raritanval.edu
B.S., Towson University
M.A., New York University

Walter Kazar Walter.kazar@raritanval.edu
Associates, AC/REFRIG/HEAT, Somerset County Technical Institute

David Lavelle David.lavelle@raritanval.edu
B.S., Business Administration, Seton Hall University
M.B.A., International Business, George Washington University

Joanna Leontaris Joanna.leontaris@raritanval.edu
M.A., Montclair State University
Ph.D., Regent University

Christopher Liebl Christopher.liebl@raritanval.edu
A.A.S, Environmental Control Technology, Raritan Valley Community College

Ellen C. Marshall, Esq. Ellen.marshall@raritanval.edu
B.A. Psychology, Catholic University of America
M.A., Counseling, Suffolk University
J.D., Seton Hall Law School 

Scott Marum Scott.marum@raritanval.edu
J.D., Law, Seton Hall Law School

Daniel Meechan Daniel.meechan@raritanval.edu
A.A., Marketing, Raritan Valley Community College
B.A., Economics, Rutgers University
M.B.A., Marketing, LaSalle University

Swati Mehta Swati.mehta@raritanval.edu
B.E., Gujarat University, India
M.C.A, Gujarat University, India

Michelle Miller Michelle.miller@raritanval.edu
A.A., Liberal Arts, Raritan Valley Community College
B.S., Accounting, Rutgers University

Charles Njogu Charles.njogu@raritanval.edu
M.S., Management and Systems, New York University

William John Orbe   William.Orbe@raritanval.edu
M.A., Montclair State University
B.A., University of Florida

Rajiv Parkash   Rajiv.parkash@raritanval.edu
Bachelor of Electrical Engineering, CQUniversity

Aaron Parks Aaron.parks@raritanval.edu
B.A., Criminal Justice, Rutgers University
M.A., Human Resources, Training and Development, Seton Hall University

Edward Pasternak Edward.pasternak@raritanval.edu
B.A., English, Rutgers University
J.D., Law, Temple University

Renner Rachel Renner.rachel@raritanval.edu
B.S., Finance, The College of New Jersey
M.S., Sustainability Management, Columbia University

Amit Ray Amit.ray@raritanval.edu
M.S.E., Drexel University

Brian Rimple Brian.rimple@raritanval.edu
B.S., Criminal Justice, Shippensburg University
M.A., Criminal Justice, American Military University

James Rossetti james.rossetti@raritanval.edu
B.S. Mechanical Engineering (BSME), Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Eunice Sarzedas   Eunice.sarzedas@raritanval.edu
New Brunswick Theological Seminary Pursuing Doctoral Ministry, Ramapo College of New Jersey
M.B.A., Lisbon Portugal
M.S., Computer Science
B.S., Marketing
Certiport MS Office Certified

Moira J. Selinka  moira.selinka@raritanval.edu
J.D., Rutgers School of Law-Camden

Howard Sims Howard.sims@raritanval.edu
M.S., University of Phoenix

Gregory Skelley Gregory.skelley@raritanval.edu
B.S., Kean University
M.B.A., New Jersey City University

Barbara Smith   Barbara.smith@raritanval.edu
M.B.A., Syracuse University

Christopher Sorce  Christopher.sorce@raritanval.edu
B.A., Boston College
M.B.A., Temple University

Keith Spero Keith.spero@raritanval.edu
B.S., Lehigh University
M.B.A., Fairleigh Dickinson University

Norman Stone   Norman.stone@raritanval.edu
M.B.A., Baruch College
B.S., CUNY

Agnes Sung Agnes.sung@raritanval.edu
B.A., Asian & Middle Eastern Studies, University of Pennsylvania
M.S., Computer Information Science, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Early Childhood Teaching Certification, Rider University

Eric Symborski Eric.symborski@raritanval.edu
A.A.S., Air Conditioning & Heating, Raritan Valley Community College

William Tamke William.tamke@raritanval.edu
B.S., Mathematics, St. Peter’s College
M.B.A., Finance, M.B.A., Marketing, Rutgers University

Anthony Thompson Anthony.thompson@raritanval.edu
B.S., M.S., Computer Information Science, Columbia College
M.B.A., Business Administration, Rutgers University

Frederick Turbitt Frederick.turbitt@raritanval.edu
B.S.B.A., Monmouth University

Sheila Van Diver    Shelia.van-diver@raritanval.edu
M.S., The College of NJ
B.S., Hampton Institute

Douglas B. Van Nest  douglas.vannest@raritanval.edu
B.S. HVACR Engineering Technology, Ferris State University
A.A.S. Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Technology, Raritan Valley Community College

John Werner   john.werner@raritanval.edu
A.A.S. Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Technology, Raritan Valley Community College

Miles Winder Miles.winder@raritanval.edu
J.D., University of Denver

Specialized clubs and honor societies offer opportunities for you to get involved, serve your community, and extend your knowledge and engagement beyond the classroom. These organizations include:
  • Paralegal Studies Club
  • Criminal Justice Club
  • Enactus
  • Rotaract
  • Business Honor Society

SanofiUS Corporate Mentor Program

Scholarships are available to students studying in specialized fields including:
  • Criminal Justice – Wayne J. Forrest, Esq. Scholarship
  • International Business – Axel Velden Memorial Scholarship
  • Paralegal Studies – Maria DeFilippis Scholarship, Patricia Critelli Scholarship, Baker & Runnells Graduate Award
  • Business or Paralegal – Sophie Sadowsky Chmil Memorial Scholarship (woman over 45 years old re-careering)

Learn more

Career Coach – Learn more about career opportunities in business and public service.

Contact Information
Janice.Hansen@raritanval.edu
908-526-1200 x8878

Taking online community college classes offers you the flexibility and convenience to fit college into your schedule. You have an opportunity to interact with instructors and fellow students online. RVCC offers special online course orientations to help you to prepare for studying virtually and to show you how to make the most of the educational experience.

Latest News From Campus

News Releases Society of Women Engineers Creates Windmill Project, Encourages Future Women Engineers Posted Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Read More
Link to Society of Women Engineers Creates Windmill Project, Encourages Future Women Engineers
Blog Learn About the Honors College at RVCC! Posted Monday, November 15, 2021
Read More
Link to Learn About the Honors College at RVCC!
Blog International Students: Find a World of Opportunity at RVCC Posted Friday, October 29, 2021
Read More
Link to International Students: Find a World of Opportunity at RVCC