Arts & Design

Arts & Design

Department Overview

Have you always pictured yourself shining on stage? Fine-tune your raw talent with a conservatory-based education at RVCC. Students of our Arts & Design Program create vivid visual portfolios and winning audition pieces. With these assets, they move on to some of the country’s top arts performing programs and go on succeed in talent-based careers. Our graduates have continued their education at such prestigious schools as UCLA, NYU, Parsons School of Design and Berklee College of Music. Our prime location just an hour outside both New York City and Philadelphia gives us access to teaching artists with coveted experience in the field.

Turn your passion into a career with a Arts and Design education at RVCC.
 

View Events

Where Talent and Education Thrive

RVCC’s Arts and Design department cultivates top-notch talent in an academically rigorous environment. Embrace a creative and challenging education among a community of likeminded peers.a

Degree Programs

Full Time Faculty

Bio

Instructor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.L.I.S., School of Communication, Information & Library Science, Rutgers University, B.A., Rutgers University

Programming Consultant, The Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon, NEH Grant PW-50002-08. Researcher & Manuscript Digitization, The Mandaean Book of John: Critical Edition, Translation and Commentary, NEH Grant RQ-50649-12

Area of Expertise
General Computing, Aramaic Studies, Multimedia Production, Web Development, Database Design, Digitization & Archiving
Email
Bio

Associate Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A., Columbia University; B.S., Gordon College

Virtual reality spaces for data visualization Global Game Jam - Regional Coordinator (US) Global Game Jam - Site Organizer

Area of Expertise
Game Development, Multimedia, Web
Email
Bio

Director of Dance
Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.F.A., The Ohio State University; B.A., The College of the Holy Cross

Somerset County Cultural and Heritage Commission grant, New Jersey State Council on the Arts, 2015; Artists Fellowship Award in Choreography, New Jersey State Council on the Arts, 2011; The National Conference for Community and Justice Best Practices Award  - Best of Branchburg honoree, Branchburg Rotary Club, 2011;  Somerset County Cultural and Heritage Commission grant, New Jersey State Council on the Arts, 2005; Puffin Foundation Arts Grant, 2002, 2005; Middlesex County Cultural and Heritage Commission Grant, New Jersey State Council on the Arts,  1993 - 1996, 2001 – 2003; Burlington County Cultural and Heritage Department Grant, New Jersey State Council on the Arts, 1998, 1999; New York Foundation for the Arts Grant, 1992; Artists-in-Education Grant, New Jersey State Council on the Arts, ongoing - New Jersey Teacher Dual Certification in Theater and Vocational Arts/Dance

Area of Expertise
Dance
Email
Bio

Coordinator Visual Design
Instructor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.F.A., Maryland Institute College of Art; B.A.,Stockton University

Gold Dragon Studios; Game Design Founding Partner, Creative Director and Content Designer - Greenman Creative; Designer and Creative Consultant - Aspect Arts;  Direction and promotion/branding of all projects including media, design photography, and music.

Area of Expertise
Visual Design, Media
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: Doctor of Musical Arts, Piano Performance, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ; Master of Music in Piano Performance, University of Minnesota; Master of Music and Bachelor’s Degrees in Piano Performance, Collaborative Piano, Chamber Music & Piano Pedagogy, Gnessin Russian Academy of Music, Moscow, Russia

Area of Expertise
Music
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor-Arts and Design

Academic Degrees Achieved: B.F.A. Rhode Island School of Design, RI
M.F.A. Montclair State University, NJ

•    Long Island Arts Council grant for Freeport public library mural
•    Artist in residence, AIR-Y, Kofu City, Yamanashi, Japan
•    Artist in residence, Marpha Foundation, Marpha, Nepal
•    Civil Society Fellowship, Artist-In-Residency, Vermont Studio Center

Area of Expertise
Foundation courses and Painting
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor of Art - 3D Design and Sculpture

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.F.A., Rhode Island School of Design; B.F.A., Mason Gross School of the Arts, Rutgers University

Area of Expertise
3D Design and Sculpture Curriculum and Facility within Art and Design Department
Email
Bio

Arts & Design Co-Chair
Associate Professor - Graphic Design
RVCC Art Gallery Director

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.F.A., Cranbrook Academy of Art; B.F.A., Hartford Art School / Glasgow School of Art

2015-16 RVCC Full-Time Faculty Research Grant; 2015 Residency: NES Artist Residency, Skagaströnd, Iceland; 2013 Puffin Foundation Ltd. Individual Artist Grant; 2012 Residency: The Solo(s) Project House, Newark, NJ; 2011 NJ State Council on the Arts Individual Artist Grant (top award / painting); 2011 Residency: Salzburg Künstlerhaus, Salzburg, Austria; 2010 Residency: The Vermont Studio Center, Johnson, VT; 2010 Residency: Chashama North, Pine Plains, NY; 2009 Residency: Virginia Center for the Creative Arts at Mt. San Angelo, Amherst, VA; 2008 Fellowship / Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation in conjunction w/ The Millay Colony for the Arts; 2008 Residency: The Millay Colony for the Arts, Austerlitz, NY; 2007 Residency: Artists’ Enclave at I-Park, East Haddam, CT; 2006 Residency: Cooper Union School of Art - Drawing & Painting Residency, New York, NY

Area of Expertise
Graphic Design
Email
Bio

Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A., B.A., Madras University; M.A., Temple University; A.B.D., Freie Universitaet

Scholarships: Assistantship, Freie Universitaet, Berlin, Germany. Graduate Exchange Student Scholarship, Temple University, Philadelphia. Graduate Scholarship for Study in Italy, Temple University. Graduate Assistantships in Art History, Temple University. Graduate Merit Scholarship, Madras University, Chennai India.  Research Interests: Literature and the Arts in the cultures of Asia- especially East and South Asia Origins and History of Mother Goddess Imagery- in the East and West Development of the Temple of the Goddess in South Indian Temple Complexes

Area of Expertise
Italian Renaissance & Baroque Art, South & Southeast Asian Art History, East Asian Art History
Email
Bio

Professor - Theatre

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.F.A., The New School for Drama

Lifetime Membership/The Actors Studio (NY,NY); Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation Fellowship Recipient for Playwriting; New Jersey Playwrights Competition - Winner (William Paterson University); Actors Equity Member; Member of the Dramatists Guild

Area of Expertise
Theatre (Acting/Playwriting)
Email
Bio

Professor - Music

Academic Degrees Achieved: D.M.A., M.M.A., Yale School of Music;  M.A., Columbia University; B.A., Princeton University

Works featured on a New York Philharmonic Chamber Ensembles Concerts, 2006, 2013 2016; New Jersey State Council on the Arts Fellowship in music composition, 2014; Compositions and orchestrations featured on recordings from CD Baby, Musicians Showcase, Naxos, Centaur, Opus One and Newport Classic; Sonata for Solo Violin premiered 2010 in Mendoza, Argentina; Francesca da Bimini commissioned and premiered in the Kennedy Center by the National Symphony Orchestra, 2003

Area of Expertise
Music, Composition
Email

Adjunct Faculty

Raritan Valley Community College online courses, as well as face-to-face classes, are taught by accomplished adjunct and full-time faculty.

James Adkins  james.adkins@raritanval.edu
B.F.A., Sculpture, Maryland Institute, College of Art
M.F.A., Sculpture, New York Academy of Art

Abraham Alinea abraham.alinea@raritanval.edu
B.M., M.M., Music Performance (Piano), Mason Gross School of the Arts, Rutgers University

Kathleen Amalfitano kathleen.amalfitano@raritanval.edu

Marissa Aucoin  marissa.aucoin@raritanval.edu
B.F.E., Montclair State University
M.A., SUNY College Brockport

Lynn Barnes (Lydia Grey) lynn.barnes@raritanval.edu
BFA, MFA, Mason Gross School of the Arts, Rutgers University

Danielle Barry  danielle.barry@raritanval.edu
B.A., Western Maryland College
B.A., McDaniel College

Lauren Beirne lauren.beirne@raritanval.edu
B.F.E., Dance, Rutgers University
M.F.A., Dance, New York University

Will Berman  will.berman@raritanval.edu
D.M.A.,Voice, Rutgers University

Jeanne Brody  jeanne.brody@raritanval.edu
M.A., Temple University
Ph.D., University of Delaware 

Kailey Brown kailey.brown@raritanval.edu
M.F.A., Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, Philadelphia, PA
B.F.A., University of Alabama in Huntsville, Huntsville, AL 

Robert Burger robert.burger@raritanval.edu
B.A., Pratt Institute
M.A., International Fine Arts College

Angeles Cossio angeles.cossio@raritanval.edu
M.F.A., Montclair State University, Montclair, NJ
B.F.A., The State University of New York, Buffalo, NY

Lisa Deo  lisa.deo@raritanval.edu
B.A., Kean University
M.F.A.,Eugene Lang College

Michael Eckhart     michael.eckhart@raritanval.edu    
B.M., Northern Arizona University
M.M., San Diego State University – California State University

Elvis Fuentes elvis.fuentes@raritanval.edu
M.A., Rutgers University   

Barbara Greenspan  Barbara.greenspan@raritanval.edu
B.A., University of California
M.A., New York University

Kate Hoffmann  kate.hoffmann@raritanval.edu
M.O.D., The University of Edinburgh

Steve Hudson     Stephen.Hudson@raritanval.edu    
M.M., Manhattan School of Music

Bangalore Iyengar  bangalore.iyengar@raritanval.edu
B.A., Fine Arts - Visual Arts, Jaw Nehru Tech University; M.A.
Fine Arts - Visual Arts, Mah Sayajirao University Baroda

Heejung Kim     Heejung.Kim@raritanval.edu
M.F.A., State University of New York at Stony Brook

William Kolatac  william.kolatac@raritanval.edu
B.S., Rider University
M.S., Kean University

Richard Lempicki  richard.lempicki@raritanval.edu
B.Mus., Composition, Berklee College Music

Bill Macholdt     William.Macholdt@raritanval.edu    
B.S., East Stroudsburg University
M.F.A., Bennington College

David Marcinkowski David.marcinkowski@raritanval.edu
B.A., Kean University
M.A., New School Joffrey Program

Jeffrey Mason     Jeffrey.mason@raritanval.edu    
B.A., Bob Jones University,
M.F.A. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Jeffrey McConnell  jeffrey.mcconnell@raritanval.edu
M.F.A., Photography, Temple University

Irina Nikitovic  irina.nikitovic@raritanval.edu
B.A., Art History
M.Ed., Art Education & Supervision, Kean University

Dot Paolo     Dorothy.Paolo@raritanval.edu    
M.F.A., Mason Gross School of the Arts, Rutgers University

Shyamal Raguso  shyamal.raguso@raritanval.edu
B.S., Computer Science, DeSales University
B.F.A., M.F.A., Painting, Monmouth University

Candace Reilly  Candace.reilly@raritanval.edu
B.A., Drew University

John Reinking III     John.Reinking@raritanval.edu    
M.F.A., Marywood University

Jonathan Ricci     Jonathan.Ricci@raritanval.edu    
B.F.A., Maryland Institute College of Art
M.F.A., Bowling Green State University
M.A., Eastern Illinois University

Sarah Roche     Sarah.Roche@raritanval.edu    
B.F.A., Moore College of Art and Design
M.F.A., University of Pennsylvania

Ana Rolim  ana.rolim@raritanval.edu
B.Arch., M.Arch., Ph.D., Architecture & Urban Development, Federal University of Pernambuco – Brazil

Oliver Santana  oliver.santana@raritanval.edu
B.A., Music, Conservatory of Music
M.A., Music, Georgia State University
D.M.A., Music, Rutgers University

Kathy Schulz     Kathleen.Schulz@raritanval.edu   
B.F.A., State University of New York
M.F.A., University of Massachusetts

Dawn Schultz  dawn.schultz@raritanval.edu
B.A., Special Education, Kean University
M.F.A., Choreography, Jacksonville University

Paulette Sears Paulette.sears@raritanval.edu
B.A., English, Vassar College
M.A., Mills College

Wes Sherman    James.Sherman@raritanval.edu   
B.S., Lipscomb University
M.F.A., Mason Gross School of the Arts, Rutgers University

Lynn Sichel  Lynn.sichel@raritanval.edu
B.M.U.S., Antioch University
M.A., Sarah Lawrence College

San Timur Solu    San.Solu@raritanval.edu    
B.A., Kean University, English Certificate, Oxford University
M.PHIL., Rutgers University

Eric Stryker  eric.stryker@raritanval.edu
B.F.A., Art History, Boston College
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Art History, Yale University

Michael Stuempfle     Michael.Stuempfle@raritanval.edu    
B.M., M.M., Indiana State University

Eldad Tarmu  Eldad.tarmu@raritanval.edu
M.A., Stony Brook University

Cynthia Teeters     Cynthia.Teeters@raritanval.edu
M.S. University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
B.S. University of California, Los Angeles

Events

Whether your major is dance, theatre, music or art, there are opportunities throughout the year to showcase your talents and accomplishments including:

  • Student Art Shows
  • Student Theatre Performances
  • Student Dance Recitals
  • Student Music Recitals
  • RVCC Chorale
  • RVCC Jazz Ensemble

For a complete listing of VAPA events, click here.

Somerset County 2019 Excellence in the Arts Awards Ceremony

Contact Information
shartzell@raritanval.edu
908-218-8876

Latest News From Campus

News Releases RVCC’s 2024 Adjunct Excellence in Teaching Awards Announced Posted Wednesday, July 10, 2024
Read More arrow icon
Link to RVCC’s 2024 Adjunct Excellence in Teaching Awards Announced
News Releases Society of Women Engineers Partners with Intermediate School to Launch STEM Club Posted Thursday, June 20, 2024
Read More arrow icon
Link to Society of Women Engineers Partners with Intermediate School to Launch STEM Club
Blog Bright Futures Ahead: Get to Know Three Recent RVCC Grads Posted Monday, June 17, 2024
Read More arrow icon
Link to Bright Futures Ahead: Get to Know Three Recent RVCC Grads