English as a Second Language Options

English as a Second Language Options

Is the English as a Second Language program at RVCC right for you?

Watch this informational video to learn more

 

Explore our comprehensive English as a Second Language program. RVCC offers all levels of English as a Second Language instruction from basic English to advanced grammar and accent reduction.

You can take ESL courses separately or sequentially.

Workforce ESL

Academic ESL

I want to learn English for a job

OR

I speak little/no English

OR

I am looking for Professional Discussion Groups & Accent Reduction

I would like to take college classes/get a degree at RVCC

OR

I already speak, read and write some English

OR

I want to learn advanced speaking, reading, writing and grammar in English

Please Contact:

Maryam Sheikh
maryam.sheikh@raritanval.edu
908-526-1200 x8462

Please Contact:

Prof. Andrea Vaccaro
andrea.vaccaro@raritanval.edu
908-526-1200 x8575

Steps for Workforce ESL

1. Contact our office above to determine your level

2. Register for Class with your CRN click here

3. Please wait for instructions from your instructor for joining class

Steps for Academic ESL

1. Apply to RVCC click here

2. Take the ESL Placement Test (contact Prof. Vaccaro if you need assistance)

3. Talk to an ESL advisor to finish placement and make a schedule

 

Academic ESL Advising Schedule

Prof. Vaccaro is available for ESL placement and registration; please email her at andrea.vaccaro@raritanval.edu with any registration or placement questions.

ESL In-Person Placement Testing/Advising and Scheduling for Fall 2021

Prof. Vaccaro, Office: S-223-A

Fall semester is already IN PROGRESS. The next semester starts on 1/19/2022

Registration for this semester goes from 11/1/2021-1/26/2022 (for regular start classes) and 2/9/2022 (for late start classes—LIMITED SCHEDULE)

Prof. Vaccaro is available to PLACE and SCHEDULE new students IN PERSON on the following days.
Her office is S-223-A

 
Wednesday, 12/15/21, 1-5pm
Tuesday, 12/21/21, 8am-11am (last session for 2021)
Monday, 1/3/2022, 4pm-7pm
Tuesday, 1/4/2022, 8am-11am (last session to register with NO LATE FEE)
Monday, 1/10/22, 4pm-7pm
Tuesday, 1/11/22 8am-11am
Thursday, 1/13/22 2:30-4pm
Monday, 1/17/22 4-7pm (last day to register before the semester starts)
              
1/19/22 is the first day of classes
 
Wednesday, 1/19/22, 2-5pm
Monday, 1/24/22, 2-4pm
Wednesday, 1/26/22 2-4pm (last day to register for REGULAR START CLASSES (MOST CLASSES!))
Monday, 1/31/22, 2-4pm (last day to register before late start classes begin)
              
2/2/22 is the first day of the LATE START session (limited selection)

Wednesday, 2/2/22, 2-4pm
Monday, 2/7/22, 2-4pm
Wednesday 2/9/22 2-4pm (Last day to register for Late start)
 
Prof. Vaccaro will only do in-person testing and advising by appointment and with a valid reason from 2/10/22 until 4/4/22. Registration for Fall 2022 begins in April and goes through September.

Email to request an appointment andrea.vaccaro@raritanval.edu

Latest News From Campus

Blog RVCC: Making College Affordable Posted Friday, January 21, 2022
Read More
Link to RVCC: Making College Affordable
Blog A New You in 2022: Reach Your Goals at RVCC Posted Monday, January 10, 2022
Read More
Link to A New You in 2022: Reach Your Goals at RVCC
Blog Experience Hands-on Learning at RVCC’s Workforce Training Center Posted Friday, December 17, 2021
Read More
Link to Experience Hands-on Learning at RVCC’s Workforce Training Center