Health Science Education

Health Science Education

Department Overview
It takes a special person to be a healthcare professional. Empathy, attention to detail, great interpersonal skills, flexibility, physical endurance and an ability to respond quickly are just a few of the traits that are found in successful healthcare providers.

If you think that healthcare is the field for you, we offer a wide variety of options. Here are just a few:

  • Registered Nurse including a bridge program for LPNs to earn an RN
  • Programs in Exercise Science and Health Science that are designed to transfer to four-year schools to pursue a bachelor’s degree
  • Programs in Ophthalmic Science and Health Information Technology that will prepare you to enter the workforce directly after graduation
  • Specialized certificate programs to train you for a career as a Fitness Specialist or Medical Coder
  • Courses that can prepare you to take certification exams in such fields as Certified Nurse Aide and Emergency Medical Technician while you earn college credits at the same time
  • Intensive programs that will train you for a new career and prepare you to sit for certification exams in such fields as Medical Assisting, Phlebotomy, Pharmacy Technician, EKG Technician and Dental Radiology

Graduates of our programs have continued their education at such highly regarded colleges as Rutgers University, East Stroudsburg University, Kean University and the School of Professional Studies, The City University of New York.

Unleashing the Power of Healing

Compassion, dedication, service and the highest level of care. These are the principals that guide all of our Health Science Education programs. Whether you are looking to become a registered nurse or currently work in the healthcare field and want to enhance your skills, we have programs to meet your needs. Our faculty bring a wealth of knowledge and practical experience to the classroom and clinical setting. The diverse faculty brings expertise in such specialties as maternity, mental health, oncology, optometry, pediatrics, trauma, health information technology, medical assisting and fitness.

Degree Programs

Full Time Faculty

Bio

Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: Post Masters Certificate, College of New Jersey;  M.S., B.S., Gwynedd-Mercy College; L.P.N., Warren County Community College; A.S., Raritan Valley Community College

TEAGLE grant project, Janssen Pharmaceuticals grant for Diabetes awareness.  Schoolhouse project, funded by the University of Pittsburg Medical Center.  Grant to disseminate information about Emergency Preparedness.  Research poster presentation at Saint Peters University "Hypertension".

Area of Expertise
Medical, Surgical, Service Learning, Family Health
Email
Bio

Associate Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.S., Arizona School of Health Science; B.S., University of Delaware 

Area of Expertise
Exercise Science
Email
Bio

Nursing Program Coordinator

Associate Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.S.N., College of Saint Elizabeth

Area of Expertise
Nursing
Email
Bio

Instructor - Nursing

Academic degrees achieved:
M.S., Georgetown University, College of Nursing
B.S., Phillips School of Nursing at Mount Sinai Beth Israel
A.A.S., Nursing, Raritan Valley Community College

Nursing Certifications:
Board Certified Family Nurse Practitioner - Advanced Practice Nurse

Awards, research & grants:

  • Graduated Valedictorian from Phillips School of Nursing at Mount Sinai Beth Israel – BSN
  • Mount Sinai Hospital NY – Recipient of Sherman and Paula Raskin Award and Scholarship for Excellence in Clinical Judgment, Empathy and Overall Professionalism
  • Mount Sinai Hospital NY - Recipient of Jean Nerken Scholarship for Academic Excellence
  • Recipient of New Jersey League of Nursing Leadership Award, 2015
Area of Expertise
Medical, Surgical, Family Medicine
Email
Bio

Instructor

Area of Expertise
Nursing
Email
Bio

Associate Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.N., Emory University; B.S.N., Vanderbilt University

Area of Expertise
Psychology, Gerontology
Email
Bio

Instructor

Area of Expertise
Nursing
Email
Bio

Program Coordinator - Ophthalmic Science

Academic Degrees Achieved:
A.A.S., Ophthalmic Dispensing, Essex County College
B.A., Economics, Rutgers University
N.J. Licensed Ophthalmic Dispenser, State of New Jersey
A.B.O. Certified Optician

Bio

Assistant Professor - Nursing

Academic Degrees Achieved:
  ADN Felician College, Lodi, NJ
  BSN  Fairleigh Dickenson, Teaneck, NJ
  MSN Fairleigh Dickenson, Teaneck, NJ

Nursing Certifications:
  ANCC- Medical Surgical Nursing
  ANCC- Nurse Case Management

Awards etc:
  November, 2018- United Nations NGO presentation: Roma Gypsies
  May, 2012- Faculty Perseverance Award
  May, 2012- Sigma Theta Tau International: Nursing Honor Society

Area of Expertise
Nursing Theory, Lab, Clinical
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.S.N., College of St. Elizabeth; B.S.N., Kean University; A.A.S., Nursing, Raritan Valley Community College

Graduated Magna Cum Laude, College of Saint Elizabeth, 2012; RVCC Honoree for Women’s History Month, March 2011; NJSNA Merit Scholarship 2010; Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society, Mu Theta, 2008; Graduated Magna Cum Laude, Kean University;  Claire Goldstein Scholarship Award, 2006

Area of Expertise
Pediatrics, Medical-Surgiocal, Maternity nursing
Email
Bio

Medical Assistant Program Coordinator

Academic degrees achieved: Masters in Healthcare Administration, University of Phoenix; B.S., University of Phoenix

Area of Expertise
Medical Assisting Program
Email
Bio

Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.S., East Stroudsburg University; M.B.A., Hofstra University; B.S., SUNY Plattsburgh; Fitness Certificate, Raritan Valley Community College

Plattsburgh State Sports Hall of Fame, East Islip High School Hall of Fame, Michael Brennan Spirit Award, 2014  

Area of Expertise
Exercise Science
Email
Bio

Associate Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: EdD, Saint Elizabeth University; MSN, University of Pennsylvania; BSN, Villanova University; APRN, Pediatrics Board Certified

Area of Expertise
Pediatrics
Email
Bio

Nursing Instructor

Academic degrees achieved: St. Luke's School of Nursing - Diploma, Western Governors University - BSN, MSN

Area of Expertise
Nursing
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor - Nursing/Maternity

Academic Degrees Achieved: B.S.,M.N. Emory University

Honors:
  Wescott Award winner at Hunterdon Medical Center 2005, for exemplary service
  2015 Patient Safety Award: Hunterdon Healthcare: For Extraordinary Patient Safety & Team Work Performance

Certifications and Memberships:
  International Board Certified Lactation Consultant 2003 to present
  NCC Certification In-Patient Obstetrics 2010 to present
  Nurse Executive Certification (American Nurses Credentialing Center) December, 2015
  Association of Women’s Health, Obstetrical, and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)
  Principles & Practices Fetal Monitoring Instructor 2002 to present
  American Heart Association/American Academy of Pediatrics Neonatal Resuscitation Program Instructor 2002 to present
  The S.T.A.B.L.E. Program (infant stabilization) Instructor 2003 to present
  Team STEPPS Trainer June 18, 2014 to present

Professional Organizations and Affiliations:
  AWHONN (Association of Women’s Health, Obstetrical, and Neonatal Nurses) 2001 to present.

Publications:
Dougherty, S., Whaley, J., Youngblood, A, Pickoff, R.  Patient Safety and Quality Healthcare, Nov/Dec. 2007, Delivering System Transformation: Part 1: Respect, Communication & Best Practices.

Dougherty, S., Whaley, J., Youngblood, A., Pickoff, R. Patient Safety and Quality Healthcare, Sept/Oct. 2009, Unit Transformation Improves Safety for Mothers and Infants.

Youngblood.Ardath,   Supporting a Devout Catholic Couple Through the Birth of Their Anencephalic Infant   Abstract published in the Perinatal/Neonatal Nursing: Finding Our Way Toward Evidence-Based Practice Conference Bulletin.  Monmouth University. West Long Branch, NJ. June, 2012.

Youngblood, Ardath.  Code White: Process and Protocols.  Abstract published in the  Perinatal/Neonatal Nursing: Finding Our Way Toward Evidence-Based Practice.  Monmouth University Conference Bulletin. West Long Branch, NJ. June, 2012.

Youngblood, Ardath.  Respect, Communication and Best Practices: Preventing the Preventable.  Abstract published in the AWHONN National Conference Supplement: Papers and Posters Presented at the AWHONN Annual Convention . Washington, D.C., June, 2012.

Area of Expertise
Nursing, Maternity, and Newborn Care
Email
Bio

Occupational Therapy Assistant Coordinator
Assistant Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.S., B.A., Seton Hall University

Area of Expertise
Adult Psychology, Adult/Geriatric Rehabilitation
Email

Adjunct Faculty

Raritan Valley Community College online courses, as well as face-to-face classes, are taught by accomplished adjunct and full-time faculty.

Mary Allen   mary.allen@raritanval.edu
B.S.N., Nursing, Villanova University
M.S., Health Science, Nursing, Loyola University New Orleans

Charlotte G. Avallone    charlotte.avallone@raritanval.edu
B.S. Education, SUNY Fredonia
M.S. Special Education, Adelphi University

Denel Bingel    denel.bingel@raritanval.edu
B.A. Biology and Psychology, University of Pennsylvania
M.Ed. Kinesiology, Temple University

Kelsey Caemmerer
B.A., Psychology, Rutgers University

Gerard Case  gerard.case@raritanval.edu
B.S., St. Joseph’s College Brooklyn
M.P.H., Rutgers University

Chun-Wen Chen  chun-wen.chen@raritanval.edu
PHD., Texas A&M University

Penny DelMoral  penny.delmoral@raritanval.edu
B.S., Management Science, Kean University
M.S., Management, New Jersey Institute of Technology
M.B.A., Management of Technology, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Allison Dunne  allison.dunne@raritanval.edu
B.S., University of Delaware

Tobenna Erike  tobenna.erike@raritanval.edu
M.S., Public Service, Rutgers University

Scott Morgan Evans     scott.evans@raritanval.edu
B.S., The College of New Jersey

Marsha Faden  marsha.faden@raritanval.edu
B.S., Health Records Administration, Temple University
M.B.A., Computer Information Systems, DeSales University

Edna Fameux     edna.fameux@raritanval.edu
B.S. Biology, Bridgewater State University, Bridgewater, MA
R.N., Muhlenberg School of Nursing, Plainfield, NJ
M.S.N., Kean University, Union, NJ

James Foran  james.foran@raritanval.edu
M.S., Health Administration, Williamsburg University

Catherine Gardner   catherine.gardner@raritanval.edu
B.S., Occupational Therapy, Kean University
M.P.A., Healthcare, Fairleigh Dickinson University
Doctorate of Occupational Therapy, Eastern Kentucky University

Geraldine Gibbons   geraldine.gibbons@raritanval.edu
M.S., Nursing, Rutgers University
M.B.A., Nursing, Farleigh Dickinson University

Patty Gillespie, MBA, RHIA      patricia.gillespie@raritanval.edu
B.S., HAS/HIM Weber State University Ogden, UT
M.B.A., Davenport University Online Grand Rapids, MI

Michael Harcarik  michael.harcarik@raritanval.edu
A.S., Raritan Valley Community College; Ophthalmic Science

Heather Heithoff     heather.heithoff@raritanval.edu
B.S.N., Vanderbilt University School of Nursing
M.N., Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Deborah Johnson, RHIA    deborah.johnson@raritanval.edu
B.S., HAS/HIM Weber State University Ogden, UT

Eugene Ketselman   eugene.ketselman@raritanval.edu
A.S., Math & Science, Raritan Valley Community College
B.S., Exercise Science, Rutgers University
M.S., Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy
D.P.T., Physical Therapy, Daemen College

Alfred Low-Beer   alfred.low-beer@raritanval.edu
PSCA, Camden County College
J.D., Rutgers University

Josianne Manasse   josianne.manasse@raritanval.edu
O.D., Optometry, New England College of Optometry

Randy Marti   randy.marti@raritanval.edu
M.S., Occupation Therapy, Seton Hall University
Ph.D., Education, Northcentral University

James Norgalis     james.norgalis@raritanval.edu
A.A.S., Raritan Valley Community College
B.A. Biology, Rutgers University
M.S. Administration, Central Michigan University

Donna Prete  donna.prete@raritanval.edu
B.S., Thomas Edison State College

Shalini Rajamani   shalini.rajamani@raritanval.edu
B.A., Commerce, M.A., Commerce with a specialization in Banking & Finance, University of Mumbai – India

Charles Ray  charles.ray@raritanval.edu
B.S., Sociology, Louisiana State University
J.D., Law, Rutgers School of Law, Camden

Kara Reiling   kara.reiling@raritanval.edu
B.A., Occupational Therapy, Quinnipiac University
M.S., Occupational Therapy, Belmont University

Ann Ryan   ann.ryan@raritanval.edu
B.A., English Lit., Rosemont College
M.A., Special Education, Centenary College

Rose Santos-Martinez  
B.S., Occupational Therapy, York College
Ph.D., Occupational Therapy, Quinnipiac University

Lara Seligman-Russo   lara.seligman-russo@raritanval.edu
B.S., English Literature, United States Military Academy
M.B.A., Marketing, University of Central Arkansas

Kasandra Semanchik  kasandra.semanchik@raritanval.edu
B.S., Health & Physical  Ed., Lock Haven University
M.S., Physical Ed./Teacher Ed., West Virginia University

Nancy Sinatra    nancy.sinatra@raritanval.edu
A.S., Occupational Therapy Assistant, Rockland Community College
B.A., Psychology, Marist College

Eric Specian   eric.specian@raritanval.edu
B.A., English (minor Film & Media), Kean University
M.A., English, The College of New Jersey

Chris S. Stellatella    chris.stellatella@raritanval.edu
B.S., Rutgers University

Lorraine Sutphin     lorraine.sutphin@raritanval.edu
B.S.N., Rutgers University
M.S.N., University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey

Gina Taylor   gina.taylor@raritanval.edu
B.S., Equestrian Studies, Averett University
M.S., Health Science – Occupational Therapy, Philadelphia University

Dr. Siobhan Marie Trohalides     siobhan.trohali@raritanval.edu
B.S. Health and Physical Education, Slippery Rock University 
M.S. Health and Physical Education, Indiana University
M.S. Recreation, Indiana University
NJ New Jersey State Supervisor’s Certificate, Caldwell College
Doctor of Education Degree, Technology-Enhanced Fitness and Wellness, Teacher Leadership, Walden University

Christopher Vaccaro   christopher.vaccaro@raritanval.edu
B.A., History, University of Massachusetts
J.D., Law, CUNY School of Professional Studies

William Velardi  William.velardi@raritanval.edu
B.S., Biology, Seton Hall University
O.D., Optometry, Illinois College of Optometry

Enrique Watson Enrique.watson@raritanval.edu
M.D., University of Havana

RoseAnn Webb, MNM, RHIA, CHPS, FAHIMA, LHRM    roseann.webb@raritanval.edu
A.S. Liberal Arts, Broward County Community College
B.S. Medical Record Administration, Florida International University
Master of Nonprofit Managment, Florida Atlantic University

James Weyand   james.weyand@raritanval.edu
B.A., Physics, Binghamton University; M.S., Athletic Training, Seton Hall University

Brooke Williams  brooke.williams@raritanval.edu
A.S., Occupational Therapy Assistant, Orange County Community College

Additional Details

Health Science Education Information Sessions are held annually and Nursing Information Sessions are held monthly during the Fall and Spring Semesters.

The Health information Technology program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education – CAHIIM.

The RN program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, Inc. (ACEN) and NJ BON.

Career Coach – Learn more about health science career opportunities

Contact Information:
Jennifer East
jennifer.east@raritanval.edu
908-526-1200 x8610

TAACCCT Grant  

Raritan Valley Community College (RVCC) offers grant-funded training opportunities through a health professions grant that can help you start a career in healthcare. This initiative, provided through the New Jersey Health Professions Consortium (NJHPC), is designed to reduce roadblocks and help individuals and their families obtain education, training and employment in a wide range of healthcare occupations.

This opportunity is offered through a Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College Career Training (TAACCCT) grant, which is funded by the U.S. Department of Labor. It is a region-wide capacity building initiative with a goal of strengthening and expanding occupational training in the healthcare sector through workforce readiness and integrated basic skills preparation for unemployed, underemployed or low income individuals, including TANF and GA recipients, who meet the eligibility requirements.

HEALTH PROFESSION CERTIFICATE PROGRAMS

RVCC offers several different healthcare training programs which can take from three weeks up to two years to complete, depending on the field of study. We offer:

  • Coding
  • Medical Assisting
  • Licensed Practical Nursing
  • EKG/ECG
  • Pharmacy Tech
  • Phlebotomy
  • Occupational Therapy Assistant

To be enrolled in the program you must:

  • Have a high school diploma or GED
  • Meet residency requirements
  • Be unemployed/underemployed or low income

PROGRAM BENEFITS

Participants in the program will receive the training, and practicum placement that are essential to obtaining desired careers in the health care field and one-on-one job placement advisement. Partnerships are being developed with local health care employers focused on launching graduates into their new careers.

LEARN MORE

Contact us today to learn more about the program.
Inieka Stafford, MPA
College Site Coordinator
908.526.1200 x8519

Latest News From Campus

News Releases RVCC’s 2024 Adjunct Excellence in Teaching Awards Announced Posted Wednesday, July 10, 2024
Read More arrow icon
Link to RVCC’s 2024 Adjunct Excellence in Teaching Awards Announced
News Releases Society of Women Engineers Partners with Intermediate School to Launch STEM Club Posted Thursday, June 20, 2024
Read More arrow icon
Link to Society of Women Engineers Partners with Intermediate School to Launch STEM Club
Blog Bright Futures Ahead: Get to Know Three Recent RVCC Grads Posted Monday, June 17, 2024
Read More arrow icon
Link to Bright Futures Ahead: Get to Know Three Recent RVCC Grads