Communication & Languages

Communication & Languages

Department Overview
Effective communication skills are critical in a global marketplace with accelerating technological advancements.  Our programs provide the tools to successfully navigate this complex and ever-changing world.

The Communication & Languages Department offers a wide range of programs, with classes offered online and face-to-face, that prepare you for careers in such high-energy fields as media production, advertising, event planning, public relations, marketing, and journalism. We can also help you advance your career prospects by learning a foreign language including French and Spanish.

If English is your second language, we offer various levels of instruction to prepare you for college level courses. We can help you with speaking, grammar accent reduction, reading and writing.

Graduates of our programs transfer to such prestigious colleges and universities as The College of New Jersey, Emerson College, Rutgers University, New York University, Syracuse University and The New School.

Learning to Navigate the Global World
No matter where your career path takes you, you’ll need to have great communication skills. From landing a job to winning over clients to nailing a team project, your ability to effectively communicate can mean the difference between success and failure. The Communication & Languages Department can help you improve your communication skills so you can meet your personal, educational and career goals. You can also learn a new language or improve your foreign language skills.

Degrees Designed to Transfer to Four-Year Colleges

Communication Studies, Associate of Arts in Liberal Arts - Explore Careers
Digital Media/Film Studies, Associate of Science - Explore Careers

Certificates Designed to Develop Specialized Expertise

Digital Video Production, Certificate - Explore Careers
English as a Second Language, Certificate of Completion - Explore Careers
Event Planning/Meeting Management, Certificate - Explore Careers

 

Online classes are an option for many Communication & Language degree requirements.  Click here to register for online summer college courses today!

Bio

Professor - Communication Studies

Academic Degrees Achieved: Ed.D., M.A., West Virginia University; B.A., Capital University               

Area of Expertise
Communication Studies: Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Instructional Communication
Email
Bio

Associate Professor - English as a Second Language

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A., University of Findlay; B.S., King's College

Conference Presentations:  “Conversation Partners: Overcoming Challenges,” May 30, 2014, at the Faculty of the Future Conference held at Bucks County Community College, Newtown, Pennsylvania; “English Language Learners Researching Popular Culture to Close Gaps,” March 5, 2012, at the League of Innovations Conference held in Philadelphia, PA;  “Using video clips to stimulate students’ writing,” April 28, 2012, at the Kean University Writing Project Symposium – T3: Teachers Teaching Teachers held at Kean University, Union, New Jersey;  “Using elaboration to decipher vocabulary,” April 3, 2008, at the 42nd Annual TESOL Convention and Exhibit held in New York, New York;  “Bringing Native and Nonnative Speakers Together,” March 31, 2005, at the 39th Annual TESOL Convention and Exhibit held in San Antonio, Texas 

Area of Expertise
English as a Second Language
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor - Communication

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.S., Boston University; B.S., Florida Institute of Technology

Dennis Kauff Memorial News Reporting and Producing Award for Enterprise Reporting--General News

Area of Expertise
Communication, Film Studies
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor - Spanish

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A., Montclair State University; B.A., Drew University; A.A., Raritan Valley Community College

Area of Expertise
Spanish
Email
Bio

Instructor - ASL

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A., Montclair State University; B.A., Montclair State University

Area of Expertise
American Sign Language, Linguistics
Email
Bio

Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: Ph.D., New York University;  M.A., City University of New York; M.A., Louisiana State University;  B.A., Wake Forest University

Princeton Mid-Career Fellowship, 2014-2015

Area of Expertise
Teaching English to speakers of other languages
Email
Bio

Assistant Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A., Columbia University; B.A., Seton Hall University; A.A., Union County College

Winner of the Neblett Award for Outstanding Classroom Teaching, 2013

Area of Expertise
Interpersonal Communication, Media Studies, Rhetoric
Email
Bio

Professor - French & Spanish              

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A.,University of Salamanca, Spain; M.A., Purdue University; French Certificate, University of Quebec

1997 Who's Who Among America's teachers, 2002 Fulbright Teacher Award, 2005 Fulbright-Hayes Grant Recipient, 2008 Editor's Choice Award for International Library of Poetry,  2015 Publication in Raritan Valley Anthology of Poetry; Papers presented at national and international conferences for AATF, ACTFL, NJEA and NE on topics such as the Cajun people, King Arthur, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Guadalupe-an creole, language acquisition.

Area of Expertise
French & Spanish
Email
Bio

Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved: M.A., Ohio University; B.S., Emerson College
  
Author Mediated Perspectives: Media Ownership, Literacy, and Effects (Cognella Publishing, 2015) - Pursuing PhD Psychology (Media Effects), Capella University 

Area of Expertise
Mass communication, communication theory, media psychology
Email
Bio

Associate Professor

Academic Degrees Achieved:
M.A., University of San Francisco; B.A., Rutgers University

Area of Expertise
English as a Second Language
Email
Bio

Instructor

Academic Degrees Achieved: B.A., General Studies: Film, M.A., Media Studies, The New School University; A.A., Liberal Arts: Communication, Raritan Valley Community College

Area of Expertise
Digital Media/Film
Email

Raritan Valley Community College online courses, as well as face-to-face classes, are taught by accomplished adjunct and full-time faculty.

Ali Akarcesme  Ali.akarcesme@raritanval.edu
M.A., Film, School of Visual Arts
B.A., Film & Media, Temple University

Lynn Barnes  Lynn.barnes@raritanval.edu
M.F.A., Visual Arts, Rutgers University
B.F.A., Visual Arts, Rutgers University

Thomas Bentey  Thomas.bentey@raritanval.edu
M.F.A, Film (Producing), Brooklyn College, Feirstein Graduate School of Cinema
M.A., Media Studies and Communication, The New School, New School University
B.A., English, Rutgers University

Susan Berriman Bova sbova@raritanval.edu
B.S. Linguistics and French, Georgetown University
Master's Degree in Educational Linguistics with a specialization in ESL, Uuniveristy of Pennsylvania
Certificate in Bilingual Education, French, ESL and Reading Specialist

Carole Browne Carole.browne@raritanval.edu
M.A., Seton Hall University

Natalia Cabinda  Natalia.cabinda@raritanval.edu
B.A., English, French, Universite de Yaounde, Cameroon
M.A., Foreign Language & English, Universite de
Yaounde, Cameroon
M.Ed., Education, Universite de Yaounde, Cameroon

Antoinette Cavaliere  Antoinette.cavaliere@raritanval.edu

Deborah D'Amore  ddamore@raritanval.edu
B.A international Politics Minors in Business and Italian, Penn State University
M.A.T Italian, Rutgers University

Amy Dixon  amy.dixon@raritanval.edu
TESOL,Kean University
M.A. Secondary Education, Seton Hall University
B.A. Political Science, Seton Hall University

George Falkowski  George.falkowski@raritanval.edu
M.A., Mass Communication, Emerson College
B.A., English, Kean University

John J. Fink  John.fink@raritanval.edu
M.F.A., Media Production, SUNY University at Buffalo

Donna Gregory  Donna.gregory@raritanval.edu
B.A., Communication, Rutgers College
M.C.I.S., Communication and Information Studies, Rutgers University

Patricia George  Patricia.george@raritanval.edu
M.E.D., College of New Jersey

Maria Grewal  Maria.grewal@raritanval.edu
B.A., History, Warwick University, England
M.A., Comparative Social History, Warwick University U.K.

Michael Allen Griffith Michael.griffith@raritanval.edu
M.A., Mass Communication/Media Studies, New York University
B.A. Speech, Media, Communication & Philosophy, East Stroudsburg University

Katarina Grofikova   Katarina.Grofikova@raritanval.edu
Master in TESOL, 2001 Adelphi University, Long Island, New York

Lindsey Hageman  Lindsey.hageman@raritanval.edu
M.S., University of the State of New York

Timothy Hall  Timothy.hall@raritanval.edu
M.E.D., College of New Jersey
E.D.D., Columbia College

Jae Han  Jae.han@raritanval.edu
B.S., Accounting, Seton Hall University
M.A., Curriculum and Instruction ESL, Kean University
M.A., Educational Administration, Kean University

Mary Ryan Howley  Mary.howley@raritanval.edu
B.A., Music, Montclair State University
B.A., M.A., Spanish, Rutgers University

Alina Laboy  Alina.laboy@raritanval.edu
B.A., M.S., St. John’s University Jamaica

Thomas Lancaster  Thomas.lancaster@raritanval.edu
B.A., English, St. Vincent College
M.A., Media Studies, New School for Social Research

Vivienne Larrea   vlarrea@raritanval.edu
Dual B.A.  Spanish & Latin American Studies, Rutgers University
M.A.T.  Foreign Language Instruction Spanish, Rutgers University

Luis Lavado  Luis.lavado@raritanval.edu
B.S., Temple University
M.S., Gwynedd-Mercy College

Laureen Lefever  Laureen.lefever@raritanval.edu
B.A., Communication Arts, St. Francis College
M.F.A., Acting, Brooklyn College

Alfonso Q. Llano  allano@raritanval.edu
Master's degree in Spanish, Rutgers University

Christine LoMonaco  Christine.lomonaco@raritanval.edu

Brian Lorio  Brian.lorio@raritanval.edu
B.S., Speech, Northwestern University
J.D., University of Illinois College of Law

Julia T M-Bowie  Julia.tm-bowie@raritanval.edu
B.A., M.S.E.D., Rutgers University

Lisa Mahajan-Cusack  Lisa.mahajan-cusack@raritanval.edu
B.S., Business Admin/Psychology, College of St. Elizabeth
M.P.A., Public Service Admin & Policy, Seton Hall University

Clarence McMillan  Clarence.mcmillan@raritanval.edu
M.P.H., Kean University; PHD., Walden University

Catherine Mitch  Catherine.mitch@raritanval.edu
B.A., German Language and Literature, Florida State University
M.A., German Literature, Florida State University
M.S., Multilingual/Multicultural Education, Specialization in TESOL, Florida State University

Vita Morales Vita.morales@raritanval.edu
M.T.A., Hunter College
M.E.D., Fordham University

Thomas Mullen   tmullen@raritanval.edu
B.A., M.A., Comparative Literature, University of Wisconsin

Dana Jean Nelson  Dana.nelson@raritanval.edu
M.A., Psychology, Rutgers University
M.A., ESL Studies, Rider University
B.A., Psychology, Carleton College

Xavier Nieto  Xavier.nieto@raritanval.edu
B.A., Spanish, College of Staten Island
M.A., Spanish, Brooklyn College

Cary Pendaz  Cary.pendaz@raritanval.edu
B.A., Humboldt State University
M.A., Middlebury University

Olga Phelps   Olga.Phelps@raritanval.edu
M.A., Herzen University

Bryon Pinajian  Bryon.pinajian@raritanval.edu
M.A., Seton Hall University

Katherine Poynter  Katherine.poynter@raritanval.edu
B.A., Drew University
M.A., College of New Jersey

Jason Scott Quinn   Jason.Quinn@raritanval.edu
M.F.A, University of North Carolina at Greensboro,
M.A. Acting, University of North Carolina at Greensboro,
B.A. Communication Studies, University of South Florida
Theatre Arts Cert. Acting, Circle in the Square Theatre School

Amit Ray  Amit.ray@raritanval.edu
M.S.E., Drexel University

Anne Reifsnyder Anne.reifsnyder@raritanval.edu
B.A., Lake Erie College
M.S., University of Albany, SUNY

Michael Reynolds Michael.reynolds@raritanval.edu
M.A., English and Creative Writing, Southern New Hampshire University
B.A., Communication, Ramapo College

Betty Sanchez  Betty.sanchez@raritanval.edu
M.A., Montclair State University

David Sandler  David.sandler@raritanval.edu
B.S., Journalism, Suffolk University
M.A., Education, Suffolk University

Brian Schorr  Brian.schorr@raritanval.edu

Peter J. Schroeck   pschroec@raritanval.edu
B.A. German, SUNY at Albany
M.A. German, SUNY at Albany
Ph.D. German, Rutgers University

Michael Shannon, CMP, HMCC  Michael.shannon@raritanval.edu
B.S., Business Administration, School of Hotel & Restaurant Management, University of Denver

Jacqueline Skole  Jacqueline.skole@raritanval.edu
A.B., Political Science, Communication, University of Michigan
M.S.J., Journalism, Northwestern University, Medill School of Journalism

Joseph Svec  Joseph.svec@raritanval.edu
M.A., William Paterson University
M.F.A., University of Idaho

Kimberley Tan  Kimberley.tan@raritanval.edu
B.A., Memorial University Newfoundland

Louis Thomas  Louis.thomas@raritanval.edu
Montgomery County Community College
B.A., Temple University

Amanda J. Thompson   athompso@raritanval.edu
M.A. Applied Linguistics, Montclair State University
B.A. Spanish Linguistics, Rutgers University

Peter Troost  Peter.troost@raritanval.edu
Certificates, Avid Editing, Future Media Concepts
B.A., Communication, Rutgers University

Hector Velasquez  Hector.velasquez@raritanval.edu
M.E.D., New Jersey City University

Doryce Wheeler   Doryce.Wheeler@raritanval.edu
Ed.M./Teacher Certification Program in English as a Second Language, Rutgers Graduate School of Education

Joseph Whelan  Joseph.whelan@raritanval.edu
B.A., Spanish, Rutgers University
M.A., Inst. Curr./ESL, Kean University

Ricardo Zamora   rzamora@rvcc.edu
Master Degree University of Salamanca (Spain)
 

 

The Department sponsors several events throughout the year to showcase student achievements and enhance learning including: film festivals, Nota Bene (recognition of outstanding student achievement in all disciplines), speech competitions, and student video screenings.

Students with strong academic standing are invited to join Sigma Chi Eta, the Communication Honor Society; Alpha Beta Gamma, the Business, Communication, and Media Honor Society; or Phi Theta Kappa, the international society for Community College students.

Career Coach – Learn more about career opportunities in communications and languages.

Contact Information:
helena.torlish@raritanval.edu
908-526-1200 x8221

 

Taking online community college classes offers you the flexibility and convenience to fit college into your schedule. You have an opportunity to interact with instructors and fellow students online. RVCC offers special online course orientations to help you to prepare for studying virtually and to show you how to make the most of the educational experience.

Latest News From Campus

Blog Cross the Finish Line and Complete Your Degree at RVCC! Posted Thursday, June 16, 2022
Read More
Link to Cross the Finish Line and Complete Your Degree at RVCC!
Blog Enjoy the Many Student Perks at RVCC! Posted Friday, June 10, 2022
Read More
Link to Enjoy the Many Student Perks at RVCC!
Blog Think College is Out of Reach? RVCC is Your Solution! Posted Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Read More
Link to Think College is Out of Reach? RVCC is Your Solution!